It’s been a long day.  Social, pleasant, but long.  And a lot of driving to-and-fro in the city (outside to inside and vice versa).   Anyone who’s done that all day, especially with a standard transmission, knows it can be a bit tiring.

So, I decide to go out to eat.  Walking into a restaurant, there’s an “American looking” woman at a patio table, but I want to be inside away from the traffic. It would be fine if I didn’t see any traffic for days!   Walking past, I wish her a “Buenas noches,” although it is a bit early for that.

She just stares at me.  I’m kinda loud, so I doubt she couldn’t hear.  A nod. A smile. A wince, even?  No.

Later, the waiter is visiting with her because we’re the only two customers in the place.  He exchanges pleasantries, then she just unloads on him about the horrible new Mexican laws. In English, of course.

Why… now Americans have to go back to the USA and begin their visa process with a consulate, rather than just doing whatever they want once in Mexico.

I guess my opinion is that every country has the right to make the laws they think they need.  But what really amazes me is that so many nations have taken as long as they have to “equalize” their laws with the way American laws now treat their citizens. Which is to say, “very poorly.”

After 9/11 “everything changed,” which was perhaps one of the worst policy choices possible.  Once those lenses were put on, the USA viewed every single visitor with suspicion and the “visit America visa process” is now complex and expensive.  Far beyond the reach of many people who previously could afford a little visit.  And unfriendly doesn’t begin to describe it. [Remove your shirt for tattoo inspection. Humiliating questioning. And more.] 

So, now Americans have to begin a Mexican resident visa process at home with a consulate.  Just as the US requires of Mexicans who wish to visit or reside in the USA.

My question is:  Should Americans be surprised when other nations pass laws just like those in the USA?

 

